Life changes

I’m now a month into my new job, and what a month it has been!

I’m the executive assistant to the senior vice president of a large firm. It’s great! The days are long but I get to walk down the street to starbucks for a coffee when needed. The biggest weight is now off my shoulders – I know I’ll have a steady income for the next 12 months (at least). As any and all military spouses will know, work can be hard to come by, no matter how educated or accomplished you are. Not to mention, bases are not near major cities, so the job market is even thinner. In my case, I found this job through the Voice of English Quebec’s job bank. I lucked-out!

With the new job also comes major changes in our PMQ. I’m no longer here to run the house and keep a finger on the pulse of our daily lives. Considering I bitched about it the entire time I WAS doing all that, I’ve done a180 and I’m now wondering and constantly thinking about the stuff in our house. Did the cats get fresh water? who cleaned the toilet bowl? Did the living room get vacuumed? Did we take dinner out of the freezer? These are all issues I would address during the course of a day at home, and I’m now relaying them to DH.  It’s disconcerting and has been a big change for me – a healthy change – but a big change.

When DH leaves next week for 2-3 weeks, I’ll have to settle into a new and different routine, and then another one when he’s back. But that’s life in the military! we’re almost always in flux.

I of course miss the ability to go sit at my computer and blog for an hour, or go for a walk, or hang out with friends during the day. That’s normal, and I’m in the process of fitting it all into my new schedule piece by piece. Wish me luck!

 In the meantime, give me a couple of weeks to shift my life into another gear.

A

Screen Shot 2014-07-20 at 9.04.38 PM

Leave a Reply

